Press "Enter" to skip to content

call for entries: 18th Japan Media Arts Festival

18jmaf_logo_英文メイン回数入り日英版Btype18th Japan Media Arts Festival | Call for Entries

Deadline: 2 September 2014 (18:00 Japan Standard Time)

The Japan Media Arts Festival is a comprehensive festival of Media Arts (Media Geijutsu) that honors outstanding works from a diverse range of media – from animation and comics to media art and games. The festival gives awards in each of its four divisions: Art, Entertainment, Animation, and Manga. Since its inception in 1997, the festival has recognized significant works of high artistry and creativity, and in addition to a yearly Exhibition of Award-winning Works has held other events, such as symposiums, screenings, and showcases.

Entries are sought from professional, amateur, independent and commercial creators across the globe. Works completed or released between September 13, 2013 and September 2, 2014 are eligible for entry in the four divisions – Art, Entertainment, Animation and Manga.


Entry Period: Monday, July 7 – Tuesday, September 2, 2014 (18:00 Japan Standard Time)

Announcement of Award-winning Works: Late November 2014

Awards Ceremony: Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Exhibition of Award-winning Works: Wednesday, February 4 – Sunday, February 15, 2015

Venue: The National Art Center, Tokyo (Roppongi, Tokyo) and other locations.


Entry Outline

The Four Divisions(Art, Entertainment, Animation, Manga)


Art Division

Works of art created with new media and digital technologies.

Interactive art, media installations, video works, video installations, graphic art (digital illustrations, digital photographs, computer graphics, etc.), internet art, media performances, etc.


Entertainment Division

Works for entertainment created with digital technologies.

Games (video games, online games, etc.), video works (music videos, independent and advertising videos, etc.), multimedia productions (including special-effects videos, performances, projections), gadgets, electronics, websites (including web promotion, open source projects), application software, etc.


Animation Division

Animated feature films, animated short films, animated series, etc.


Manga Division

Comics published in book form, comics published in a magazine (including works still being serialized), comics published online (for computer or mobile), self-published comics, etc.


Entry Period 

Monday, July 7, 2014 – Tuesday, September 2, 2014 (18:00 Japan Standard Time)



Works must be completed or released between: Friday, September 13, 2013 and Tuesday, September 2, 2014.



For each division, one Grand Prize, four Excellence Awards, and three New Face Awards will be awarded on the basis of artistic quality and creativity. In addition, a Special Achievement Award will be awarded on the recommendation of the Jury to a person or group having made a special contribution to Media Arts in any of the four divisions.

Grand Prize: Certificate, trophy, 600,000 Japanese Yen

Excellence Award: Certificate, trophy, 300,000 Japanese Yen

New Face Award: Certificate, trophy, 200,000 Japanese Yen

Special Achievement Award: Certificate, trophy

Other outstanding entries will be chosen by the Jury as Jury Selections

(Certificates will be presented by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology)


JMAF Official Website:

Organizer: Japan Media Arts Festival Executive Committee

Contact Information: Japan Media Arts Festival Secretariat [c/o CG-ARTS]




Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply