Press "Enter" to skip to content

OIAF 2014 Winners Announced! Poland and Canada Take Top Prizes


Sam Chou! photo courtesy of Mike Geiger
Sam Chou! photo courtesy of Mike Geiger

OTTAWA (September 20, 2014)— The Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF) competition component has come to an end with the highly anticipated award ceremonies, which were held this evening at St. Brigid’s Centre for the Arts. OIAF organizers announced the 2014 winners of the official competition during the ceremonies.

This year’s OIAF, which is in full swing, began on September 17th and ends tomorrow, September 21st. The Festival has once again been a tremendous success with packed screenings, workshops, and high profile networking events such as TAC – The Animation Conference. Screenings will continue tomorrow.

This year the festival received 2,033 entries from 70 different countries, selecting 101 short films and 5 feature films. An additional 71 films are showing out-of-competition in Showcase screenings.

The OIAF is a major international film event that attracts more than 28,000 film buffs, art lovers, producers, and cartoon fans from around the world.

The members of the 2014 Jury for the Short Program include Claire Blanchet (Canada), Philip Hunt (UK), and Maria Tereschenko (Russia). The members of the Jury for the Animated Feature Film Competition include David OReilly (Ireland), Patrice James (Canada), and Tom Warburton (USA). The jury for Best Short Animation for Children is Stephen Fortier, Jacob Bouse, and David Cuevas. Finally, the members of the Jury for the Best Animation Series for Children are Anna Demarbre, Paige Robert and Callia Bouse.

The Nelvana 2014 GRAND PRIZE for Best Short Animation:
Hipopotamy by Piotr Dumala (Poland)

Honourable Mention:
Butter Ya’ Self by Julian Petschek (USA)

SethsDominionThe 2014 GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature:
Seth’s Dominion by Luc Chamberland (Canada)

The 2014 Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation is:
1000 Plateaus (2004-2014) by Steve Woloshen

Honourable Mentions:
Soif by Michele Cournoyer
MTL Rush by Matthieu Guimond

Sony Pictures Animation Public Prize
We Can’t Live Without Cosmos by Konstantin Bronzit (Russia)

Best Narrative Short Animation:
Marilyn Myller by Mikey Please (UK & United States)

Honourable Mention:
Phantom Limb by Alex Grigg (UK & Australia)

Best Laika Experimental/ Abstract Animation:
Eager by Allison Schulnik (USA)

Honourable Mention:
Totem by Caleb Wood (USA)

Walt Disney Award for Best Graduation Animation:
Things Don’t Fit by Tim Divall (UK)

Honourable Mentions:
Somewhere by Nicolas Ménard (UK)
Crazy Little Things by Onohana (Japan)

Best Undergraduate Animation:
Lesley the Pony Has an A+ Day by Christian Larrave (USA)

Best High School Animation:
Priorities by Gints Zilbalodis (Latvia)

Honourable Mention:
Dance of Death by Choi Ye Won, Lee young guen & Park So Young (South Korea)

Best Animation School Showreel:
Rhode Island School of Design (USA)

Honourable Mention:
Tokyo School of the Arts (Japan)

Best Canadian Student Animation:
Soupe aux Carottes, Charles Lavoie, Concordia University

Honourable Mention:
Lucy & the Limbs, Edlyn Capulong, Sheridan College
MTL Rush, Mathieu Guimond, Concordia University

Best Promotional Animation:
Holland Animation Film Festival ‘2014 Festival Leader’ by Andreas Hykade (Germany & Netherlands)

Honourable Mention:
2013 Festival National du Film d’Animation ‘Fight!’ by Marc James Roels (Belgium & France)

Best Music Video:
Christopher Bono ‘Unity’ by Tobias Stretch (USA)

Honourable Mention to:
James ‘Moving On’ by Ainslie Henderson (UK)

Best Animation Series for Adults:
Crime: The Animated Series by Sam Chou & Alix Lambert (USA)

Honourable Mention:
Heaven’s Countryland Part 1: Childhood story of Kim Jong Un’ by David Oreilly (USA)

Best Short Animation for Children:
Magic Time by Kine Aune (Norway)

Honourable Mention:
Anatole’s Little Saucepan by Eric Montchaud (France)
The Fish-Tale Girl by Serhiy Melnichenko (Ukraine)

Best Animation Series for Children:
Les larmes du crocodile by Agnés Lecreux, Steven De Beul & Ben Tesseur (France)

Honourable Mention:
Regular Show ‘The Last Laserdisc Player’ by JG Quintel (USA)
The Scent of Carrots by Arnaud Demuynck & Rémi Durin (France)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply